2 Poems – by Betty Muragori

Focus: Kenya poems.

The Language of Tribe 

I am well versed in the idiom of tribe, 
Having acquired the script long ago, from my family, friends, schools, 
From my whole existence as a Kenyan really. 
And I speak it with fluent authority. 
There maybe times when I look different, 
Special even, as if the language of tribe were beyond my understanding. 
After all, I can cite my marriage, my children, my friends, 
But that is a false impression, 
I am like everyone else.   

II

This uncomfortable truth led me on a journey. 
I wanted to know, 
What is this thing called tribe, really? 
That has us all by the neck? 
What does it  look like? 
How does it feel? 
How do people live with it? 
Laughing one moment with their tribal protagonist, 
And the next, looking at each other across a wide abyss, 
A yawning space, unbridgeable by the smiles of former friends, 
Now bereft of all good intentions? 

III

I wonder, 
If tribe were a taste,
A sound, 
A feeling, 
A thing alive, 
How would it be? 
My experience of tribe is all sharp acid on the tongue, 
Clanging metallic noises, 
A rising tide of ill will, 
A watchful expectation of ugly tribe rearing its head, 
Reaching out to grab a cake, for itself, 
To eat, quickly, greedily! 
Tribe is grating loudly in my ears, 
It must be heard!  
It has me believing it is natural, inevitable like the heavens.   

IV

Tribe makes me act secretly, 
I hide myself in full public view. 
I read the newspapers, 
Watch behind the news, 
Scan the streets, 
Count the members of the church council,
On and on. 
I tally the number of times my tribe emerges. 
When the appearance is favourable, 
I smile.  

In my mind,
I add up all mounting disadvantage, 
To store in my prized bag of tribal grievance,
I am so expert at computation, 
I am no longer conscious of what I do. 
You see, I am victim, 
Innocent, 
But for the tribal designs of others.

VI 

The truth is revealed in broiling ethnic conclave, 
Here, secrets of the heart are safe, 
I bring my hush-hush bliss to the fore, 
To bemoan with relish my miserly pickings, 
Condemn with glee the crumbs I feed on, 
While others hog the national cake. 

 

 

 

Would You? 

Would you wield a panga in Burnt Forest, and cut a stranger down? 
You slashed that man as he pleaded with you for life, 
Instead you led the crowd baying for his blood 
A stranger you did not even know, 
He cowered and cried out, bleating like a lamb 
Innocent of any crime 
Death unwilling to take him, 
He died long and hard, way before his time 
His blood has watered your farm like acid rain, 
How will you live?   

Would you?   

Would you catch a running girl? 
Escaping a church fire in Eldoret? 
Place her roughly on the burning pyre 
A parody of father, tender, laying his baby girl to sleep, on downy bed, 
No lullaby can drown her keening dread, 
Her fear of eternal coming sleep 
Your pitiless face did not soothe 
Now you must be careful for your child,   

Would you? 

Would you seek a loving wife and give her one-hour to leave her home? 
Depart from all she knows and those she loves 
And go where? 
You do not care! 
And you call that an act of charity 
When she pleads with you to kill her then, 
To wield a blunt blade, 
Carve out her heart! 
For all is lost, 
At 59 where does she go to start again? 
You stood resolute 
You did not yield   

Would you?   

Would you turn against your neighbor’s son? 
The one who lent you salt in halcyon days, 
That same who nursed your wounds and soothed your troubled heart 
And flush that son out of his hiding place 
And hand him over to certain death, 
Ignore beseeching eyes of your neighbor friend 
Who stands too stunned to make a sound? 
Now your own son is done,   

Would you?   

Would you serrate your friend with words of hate? 
Spoken cruel to cause a mortal wound, 
She’s the one you used to call a chum 
Your careless hatred has sown seeds of harm 
Now you stand alone in fulsome deed?  

Would you? 

 

 

 

Posted in Kenya. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “2 Poems – by Betty Muragori”

  1. Crystal Says:

    I love this poem can u send it too me it is very touching and you are right you are just like me and everybody elsa and I hope you feel that way just like I do. Thank uyou a lot for wrighting this poem it very touching.

  2. James rogoi Says:

    “Would you?” is so powerful i can see the events you potray in my mind.i write myself but nowhere close to this,but then again i’m only 24.i’m green with envy.fantastic work,betty


Leave a Reply

